Housing Eviction - Media

  1. Ellie Anzilotti, Cities are Guaranteeing Lawyers Tenants Access to a Lawyer to Help Them Fight Eviction, Fast Company (Aug. 24, 2017), available athttps://www.fastcompany.com/40457052/cities-are-guaranteeing-tenants-access-to-a-lawyer-to-help-them-fight-eviction.

  2. Jake Blumgart, To Reduce Unfair Evictions, Tenants Need Lawyers, PlanPhilly/WHYY (Mar. 16, 2017), available at http://planphilly.com/articles/2017/03/16/to-reduce-unfair-evictions-tenants-need-lawyers.

  3. Matthew Desmond, Tipping the Scales in Housing Court, New York Times (op-ed) (Nov. 29, 2012), available at http://www.nytimes.com/2012/11/30/opinion/tipping-the-scales-in-housing-court.html.

  4. Doug Donovan, Dismissed: Solution to help tenants avoid eviction lags in Maryland, Baltimore Sun (July 1, 2017), available at http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/maryland/investigations/bs-md-tenant-attorneys-20170701-story.html.

    1. Doug Donovan, Lawmakers Seek Legal Aid For Tenants Facing Eviction in Baltimore, Baltimore Sun (July 3, 2017), available at http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/maryland/sun-investigates/bs-md-tenant-lawyers-reaction-20170703-story.html.

  5. Emily Jane Goodman, Facing Evictions – Without the Right to Counsel, Gotham Gazette (June 2008), available at http://www.gothamgazette.com/index.php/development/4014-facing-evictions-without-the-right-to-counsel.

  6. Emily Jane Goodman, Housing Court: Should Tenants Have a Guaranteed right to Counsel? Gotham Gazette (Jan. 2006), available at http://old.gothamgazette.com/article/law/20060124/13/1735

  7. Deborah Gross, Catherine Carr, and Joseph Sullivan, Commentary: Philly Tenants Should Have Access to Legal Aid, philly.com (Mar. 17, 2017), available at http://www.philly.com/philly/opinion/20170317_Commentary__Philly_tenants_should_have_access_to_lega_aid.html.

  8. Matt Hill, Zafar Shah, and Molly Armster, Op-Ed: Baltimore Needs a Paradigm Shift in Approach to Affordable Housing, Baltimore Sun (May 4, 2017), available at http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/opinion/oped/bs-ed-baltimore-dismissed-20170504-story.html.

  9. How Housing Matters, Better Housing Options, Better Legal Advice Could Turn Eviction Tide (Feb. 10, 2015), available at http://howhousingmatters.org/articles/better-housing-options-better-legal-advice-turn-eviction-tide/.

  10. Dante Ramos, In 'Evicted', A Problem Society Must Solve, Boston Globe (Apr. 17, 2016), available at http://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/2016/04/16/big-eviction-problem-deserves-big-solution-eviction-issue-bigger-than-any-one-family-evicted-problem-society-must-solve/7GQcNP4sPNCyLEhFoNIlXI/story.html.

  11. E.R. Shipp, Lawsuit Seeks Aid for Poor In Evictions, The New York Times (Feb. 25, 1989), available at http://www.nytimes.com/1989/02/25/nyregion/lawsuit-seeks-aid-for-poor-in-evictions.html.

  12. Alexis Stephens, Can Other U.S. Cities Follow in NYC's Footsteps to Help Renters?, Next City (Feb. 21, 2017), available at https://nextcity.org/daily/entry/can-other-cities-follow-nyc-footsteps-help-renters-right-to-counsel.

  13. Spencer Wells, Legal Representation in Housing Court Gains Traction as Evictions Abound, Nonprofit Quarterly (Sept. 13, 2016), available at https://nonprofitquarterly.org/2016/09/20/legal-representation-housing-court-gaining-traction-evictions-abound/.